On the eve of 2013…we’re still here!!   2 comments

Well we didn’t blow up, and who knows why the Mayan calendar ended? Maybe the maker simply ran out of space. Maybe it starts again from its beginning. I personally think it signals the beginning of a new era. It feels like that to me.
Critters 3

What a year this has been! Incredibly great things, and unbelievably challenging and difficult things, at the same freakin’ time. I’ve been having great dreams about elephants this year, and Ganesh is one of my favourite deities. I’ll take that as a sign that obstacles are being removed as is Ganesh’s wont.

I am grateful for all my “teachers” in whatever form they came into my life. I learned a lot about boundaries this year. Coming from a childhood where boundaries were blurred and often violated, this has been a long slog but I think I finally get it. This year I learned what I’m responsible for, and what I have no control over, where I end and others begin, what I “own” and what I don’t, and even what is true and what it not. It’s not that these are new ideas to me, but what we know and what we really KNOW, are two different things. My most oft picked tarot card all year was The Wheel, which to me is about following my destiny, and just as important, knowing that all others around me are, too. (I firmly believe I was born to tell this story of John McCrae and Bonfire.) As for some of the people around me, sometimes it’s hard to watch the choices people make but I really “got” that this is not only out of my hands, but none of my business!

Every January 1st I pick a few oracles for the year. January 1st, 2012, they could not have been more significant or appropriate. One of them was the Gateway rune. You are standing in a gateway on the threshold of a new life, but you cannot pass through if you’re going to drag along any old shit; judgement and blame, resentment, anger, etc. That has been one of my biggest challenges this year, to truly dump that stuff once and for all. The one tarot card I picked for the 2012 new year was Justice, which is all about cause and effect, legal matters, karma. Hoo boy, was that one timely.

launch-7615

In the summer I walked over grounds in England where the subject of my book, John McCrae walked and rode his horse, Bonfire. It was powerful to walk the windswept Salisbury Plain where the Canadian soldiers, and especially their horses, suffered such hardship in the worst winter in memory. It was beautiful, but there was no mistaking what it must have been like in the freezing winds and lashing rains from October to February of 1914/1915, without any shelter most of that time. I felt it was a perfect wrapping up of my tracking John McCrae’s footsteps before finishing the book.

On Salisbury Plain, near the camp of the 1st Brigade Canadian Field Artillery in 1914/1915

On Salisbury Plain, near the camp of the 1st Brigade Canadian Field Artillery in 1914/1915

I got lots of great bike riding in in 2012; no long ones this year but some nice day trips and some great riding down in L.A. with my buddy and new rider, Grace. She called me today actually, to tell me she’d ridden for 2 and a half hours, all by herself. She kept thinking she should get home but just couldn’t stop! Hmmm, sounds familiar. One of the best rides around here was down to visit a friend on his farm near Hays in southeastern Alberta. Just a beautiful day; badlands, canola fields, coulees, great sweeping curves along the rivers.

Ride to Hays, Alberta

Ride to Hays, Alberta

All in all, despite the difficulties, it was just an amazing and unforgettable year…in a good way. Our farm is still for sale. I think the delay in selling it was meant to be, too. If I’d had to move suddenly, in the middle of getting the book finished and launched, it would have been a disaster.

At this moment I’m the “go to” person for Soldier’s Heart while the bosses, Ed Tick and Kate Dahlstedt are in Viet Nam for 3 weeks. I have to field their phone calls and answer emails. It’s exciting to me that people of their stature trust me enough to put me in this position! I am honoured.

My next project is to begin a screenplay from Bonfire – The Chestnut Gentleman, and find a team that wants to see this story debut on May 3rd, 2015, the 100th anniversary of the poem, In Flanders Fields. Go big or go home, eh?

So…this is my end of the year/New Year’s blog. Last year I spoke of surrounding myself with like-minded people and I’ve made important strides with that. Yes, I’ve burned a couple of bridges this year, but that was not accidental. I go forward in peace and with the best of intentions. Gateway into 2013, here I come!

I wish you all a fantastic, joyful and inspired 2013!

selection

Posted December 30, 2012 by windwrangler in Home

2 responses to “On the eve of 2013…we’re still here!!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a year indeed!! What a pleasure to have our years intersect at some interesting & joyous occasions! I wish you much joy, creativity & inspiration!

  2. Thanks, Sarie. I’ve long thought of 13 as my lucky number so here goes…..

Leave a Reply

